Trial by Fire: Week One in Review

Those first three words are all it takes. I was all by myself, but I did well enough.

My master teacher made both her copies and mine in preparation for her week off on sick leave. She said she’d check in, if needed, to assure her students that she was alive: not deathly ill, abducted by aliens or in Disneyland. It wasn’t needed, having no problems keeping them under control and having assured her students she was still alive.

After, of course, insisting that she was deathly ill, abducted by aliens and in Disneyland.

I even kicked off Student Teaching Semester Two: Electric Boogaloo with my own lesson plans. I overstuffed the period with content at times, and some lessons were over way too quick. I had to get my students to argue about politics to get them doing something in the last half of my two-hour block.

It’s a good thing I obsessively read campaign coverage. I had plenty of material.

I mentioned this to an established teacher — a fancy-pants showoff who, despite tenure, still dresses professionally. He seemed somewhat taken aback by my actually talking to him while he used my master teacher’s microwave on his leftovers.

He didn’t find copious filler objectionable.

“That just comes with teaching a new lesson,” he said, laughing slightly. He backed up slowly, heated pasta on hand. “We’re all guilty of that.”

  1. dkzody

    Ah, yes, student teaching. It is an interesting time in ones life. I wish you well. I loved mine, having done it at an inner city school that my teaching prof did not want me to choose. He came a couple of times to observe and then said he couldn’t stand watching the kids. I think back to that time, and yes, the kids were difficult, but nothing like it is today, 19 years later.

  2. Thanks for the comment. I’m always looking for feedback.

    Are kids really that much worse these days? Could it be that adults today are just on the other side of the desk?

    I’ve heard both sides of this argument, though.

  3. Not all kids, but many say and do things they wouldn’t have thought of in ’89. I had rough kids, but they were always willing to do as I asked, even kids I didn’t know would obey when asked to do something. Doesn’t work that way now. “Who the blankety blank do you think you are, telling me something?” “I don’t have to do what you say.” Makes supervision a little tough at times.

  4. Though we can only speculate, to what do you attribute students’ changing attitudes? I can’t speak with more than a detached perspective on this — I was all of 3 years old in 1989.

    Is it the Internet? Mass media? The perhaps declining role of religious morality in rearing a child?




Leave a Reply

