Some people think I’m too tough on my students. Don’t tell them, but students who do their work can’t get an F.

Every time a student complains that the test is too hard, or that I expect too much from them when the rest of the class has no problem, I tell myself and them a little something that appears in every draft of every syllabus.

“It is only when you are pursued that you become swift.”

Consistency is the hardest part of a new teacher’s job, and pithy quotes go a long way to helping one’s consistency.

There are some more I like, but not nearly as much. The above quote and the entirety of this list was taken from that of a credential program professor of mine. He’s a man defined by principles and characterized by orneriness.

“If you make people think they are thinking, they will love you. If you really make them think, they will hate you for it.”

“Truthful words are not always beautiful, and beautiful words are not always truthful.”

“Education is the process of learning how to think, not what to think.”

“What’s popular is not always right, and what’s right is not always popular.”

But the one I want on a T-shirt?

“Stupid is forever. Ignorance can be fixed.”

Moral of the story? Take all advice, and only believe that which works.


  1. The best advice I got from my master teacher 12 years ago was.
    “You must have discipline, you must be flexible.”
    Very Yoda I think. Your professor sounds better.

    I am going to quote this one to my grad school prof next week tho.
    “If you make people think they are thinking, they will love you. If you really make them think, they will hate you for it.”

  2. Yoda would be more of a Subject-Object-Verb construction than a Subject-Verb-Object.

    Wisdom in these statements there is.




Leave a Reply

