Since I last wrote on the overwhelming tiredness I have from teaching my little rapscallions, I have worked out my perfect sleep schedule. It even works the way I intended it.

1. Nap. Once I get back from school and have my lunch, I fall asleep. Think 4 or 5 p.m. A nice late afternoon nap refreshes me enough to prepare for the following day, or simply to rest and refresh myself before I get to any actual leisure.

2. Wake up. Then, I wake up at 10:30 p.m. and break my Tetris high score. I might do a few other housekeeping things, like getting past a few more missions in San Andreas. I might plan the next day’s lessons, but that’s a lower priority. Joking.

3. Go back to sleep. I go right back to sleep after midnight, and I get plenty of sleep before I wake up at the comfortable morning time of 5:45 a.m.

I hit a snag on Tuesday nights, the day of my horrible, weekly 5-hour credential class. Oh, and on Wednesday, when I have to meet up with an adviser to go over my resume packet for April’s job fair. Or Thursday, which is production night at the paper.

Maybe this wasn’t such a good idea.

At least we have Easter Break starting tomorrow afternoon. Small mercies.

Moral of the story? Sleep when you’re tired. Don’t sleep when you aren’t.


  1. Moral: blogging while tired may lead to double posts.

  2. Naturally. Oh hell, I need some sleep.

  3. It sounds like you’re sleeping 10-11 hours a day, or is it me? Maybe you’re sleeping too much? The more the body has the more it wants, it’s greedy like that.

  4. When I go to bed, I’m usually reading for a good hour or so before I finally turn in, so the numbers aren’t all that accurate.




Leave a Reply

