OFF: My Name is Benjamin Baxter, and I’m Glad You Could Make It

If you really want anonymity on your blog, don’t post comments elsewhere using your real name while linking to said blog. No secret.

I knew long ago that keeping this blog anonymous for the sake of keeping it off a certain Google search was a futile effort given my propensity to ignore anonymity elsewhere, but I still pretended that search didn’t exist for the sake of maintaining my official anonymity.

I had reasoned:

How many future and potential districts would Google my name, and how many of my future and potential districts would click on a link to a teaching blog found high or even first in the results?

Turns out the answer is “quite a few.” Only days after the job fair, hits have spiked via a few choice Google searches to terms “Benjamin” and “Baxter.” Oh, well; it isn’t like I have anything to hide.

I haven’t fired any math teachers lately, nor have my students risked shell shock to write two letters home in the last month-and-a-half. And no, I don’t lie on my computer-based employment tests.

To any administrators reading this: It’s a pleasure to meet you, and I’d still love to have that job opening of yours. I’d prefer, naturally, your position teaching history, journalism and AVID, in any combination, to your many positions teaching English.

For now, though, I’ll take what I can get.

Oh, and before you notice that it looks like I posted this entry during school hours, note that my blogs are posted on nights and only timestamped for the mornings. I don’t blog at school, so don’t fire me before you hire me because you think that.

  1. Ha
    Have you been wondering about the prying eyes over your shoulder, Ben?
    Take care
    Kevin

  2. Just a little.

    This way, they don’t see me writing so callously about the job fair experience and dismiss me as a shallow crank who just so happens to be a good interview. They’ll see that I wasn’t making all that interview stuff up.

    That’s the idea, anyway.

  3. You’re in my reader now, too. It’s refreshing to read someone who is new to the profession.

    What state are you located? My high school needs an English teacher – preferably one who blogs, doesn’t hide from his thoughts, and knows AVID. I’m in NJ. Send me an email if you’re interested.

    By the way, when I am a principal (very maybe sooner rather than later) I will consider you. But only if i CAN find you on Google. I always, always Google prospective teachers. If they ain’t searchable, then they ain’t “got it”. I better be able to fond your writings if you want to work for me.

  4. I’m in California, and while I’m willing to relocate, notsomuch to New Jersey, at least for the first few years. One thing at a time.

    If they ain’t searchable, then they ain’t “got it.”

    Not all administrators are so enlightened, especially considering that the nature of a blog is, at times, that its author vents.




Leave a Reply

