Do interviewers themselves ever get screened? Compare the following modus operandi at these “we aren’t interviewing, but we will take your resume” booths.

Two well-dressed, intelligent-looking men sit behind a table for a local rural school district. There is exactly one high school in this district.

We’re not doing actual interviews, but we will plan on calling back candidates we like. Today, we’re just getting to know people.

One grouch in a light gray suit stands in front of his table, a display of his rural-but-not-local district standing behind him. With gravel in his voice:

I’m not doing interviews today. I’ll let our new school speak for itself. It’s brand new, and it has all the bells and whistles.

I’m guessing someone drew the short straw. What a sourpuss.


  1. I don’t blame the guy, in a way. If I really weren’t interviewing, and I were sent out on a mission a small basket could fulfill as well as I could, I’d probably be surly too. Not only that, but this district, if it’s to be believed, sent not one, but two people out simply to collect resumes. If they plan this badly, they might not be much fun to work for.

    Of course, this is all predicated on their apparent assertion that “getting to know people” has nothing whatsoever to do with whether or not you get a real interview.

  2. Fair enough.

    It should be said that the district represented by two people was about six minutes from my home district, and the one represented by the sourpuss is about an hour or two away.

    That might have something to do with it.

  3. My mistake. I was thinking they were both from the same district.




Leave a Reply

