Podunk fell through. After weeks of unsuccessful communication attempts, I had finally got through to my contact at BFE-Podunk Joint Unified and had accepted that position I was, by then, so excited for.

She dropped this bomb on me:

We’re still working on our master schedule. We’re not sure if we’ll need you.

Oy. Don’t trust verbal offers is the lesson here, I guess. More than anything else, this means I don’t have a job lined up for the fall, yet. Stress becomes me, and I might have only myself to blame for it: My master teacher is convinced that it’s because my employers found this blog.

After reading your blog, I wouldn’t hire you, either.

Oh well.

I could always continue subbing for another year or so. It’s easy money, work when you want. It’s also a no-benefits, non-credential-clearing job. With such a large home district here, it’s possible to work just about every day — as long as you work in special ed and continuation schools.

Except I don’t want to work in continuation schools or special ed. I want to work in my own classroom, teaching history, or journalism, or English.

Why can’t I find a job? What am I doing wrong?


  1. Dude, I would totally hire you after reading your blog.

  2. Times are tough for getting hired, especially with little experience. I have a friend who is a tenured teacher who coaches multiple sports his kids get high test scores and he can’t even get a second interview anywhere.

    Apparently in a lot of places, you need to sub for a while, become a known entity in order to get hired.

    The reality is, with your blog, the wrong people can construe you to be a trouble maker. People fear new things, and although many teachers say the same things you do on this blog, they don’t in public to this type of audience. It could really screw you if the wrong guy takes something out of context.

  3. Mr. Jones: If you’re offering a central California job, I’ll take it. If not, I appreciate the sentiment.

    Mr. Cochran: … and I don’t even coach anything. Oy.

    It could really screw you if the wrong guy takes something out of context.

    I realize this. I tried to mitigate things, but I can’t guarantee that it’ll work once people browse around some out-of-context entries.

  4. dkzody

    I’m sorry about the country school. I think it would have been a fun place to work. I like country schools, but maybe there is something better out there for you. It is a tough time to be looking for any kind of job. Offer to do the yearbook, that always helps. Or forensics, mock trial, acadec. Also, be ready for something to happen in August. That’s how I got my position, they needed a long-term sub, and 19 years later, I’m still here. So don’t give up, or give in.

  5. I’ve heard a lot about our district. One guy even insisted that it doesn’t hire until October.

    I don’t know if I have the nerves for that.




Leave a Reply

