OFF: Slow News Night? Just Make Something Up.

While I understand that CNN must be hurting to fill that news hole following the close of the primaries, and while I understand news isn’t always poignant, worthwhile or even interesting, my mind was still blown when I saw this story:

Obama ‘fist bump’ catching on

(CNN) — In a reference to Barack and Michelle Obama’s celebratory fist bump on Tuesday, Sen. Dianne Feinstein, D-California, and Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison, R-Texas, ended their conversation on CNN’s Late Edition with their own version of the “hand shake.”

How is this newsworthy, again?

If you’re thinking it, write it in the comments, instead.

Edit: For fans of the fist bump, the fist pound, the dap or the knuckle bump, CNN has the story. They would.


  1. TeacherMom

    The sad thing is that you don’t have to look very far around the world to ascertain that there is real and important news that American’s should be receiving. This is exactly why I get my news from sources other than the mainstream cable and networks. A quick check of BBC.com shows just how much news there is to report.

    The other frustrating thing about CNN (which used to be quite good before the TW merger) is that they do not do any real investigative journalism anymore. A sad ending for a network that was once innovative and thought provoking.

  2. Anderson Cooper does some marvelous reporting, as does, ironically, the reporter who covered this story.

    I’m going to have to add BBC to my list of feeds. I already added The New York Times.

  3. TeacherMom

    I agree that Cooper is at least somewhat edgy in the questions he asks, etc. I respect that he went to New Orleans when other talking heads reported on the disaster from the comfort of their own newscasts. I don’t think he is the sharpest mind in town, but he is better than the rest at CNN. Wolf Blitzer’s reporting is really inane, and he is CNN’s “headliner”.

    I don’t think anyone in the media should have a bias, but I think that they should ask tough questions and be independent in their thinking and coverage. Overall, CNN is very cautious and uninspiring in their reporting. Now we’re seeing the fruits of that policy (shared by all of the networks, so not just picking on CNN) with Scottie’s book about the run up to war.

  4. TeacherMom

    PS, I meant to mention that I heard Bill Moyers talking about the role of media yesterday. He was amazing as usual! Check out the audio if you feel so inclined.

    http://www.democracynow.org/2008/6/9/moyers

  5. I respect Bill Moyers for the most part, so I’ll check it out.

    There hasn’t been a respectable newscast since Cronkite left the business, and respectable newspapers disappeared at about the same time.

  6. TeacherMom

    I agree!




Leave a Reply

