Ignoring, Forgiving and Forgetting Only Go So Far

Moving to The House wasn’t my idea. It was suggested to me by my former landlord, who worked in concert with a former resident of The House.

Officially, I’m moving of my own volition because she wants to give my room to her father, who is in ailing health. This may be and probably is true. I can’t help but feel that she and I parted on the best of terms, and I have no idea why.

I’m more-or-less respectful, I’m financially stable, I don’t snack on their food and I keep to myself. I don’t hog their televisions, game consoles or laundry room.

Even so, I can’t help but think that the owners of the house don’t like me very much. It’s something about the way I’m reluctantly introduced to their friends when we cross paths in the kitchen; it’s something about their polite laughter when they hear me say something they think is a joke; it’s something about tired and disappointed faces I see out of the corner of my eye.

This could all be some kind of self-constructed illusion, but I couldn’t help but feel an undercurrent of resentment — I couldn’t help but feel as if there’s something else going on, beneath the surface, to which I’m am totally oblivious.

In my experience, there always is. Rather than dwell on it, I move on, ignoring, forgiving and forgetting suspicious behavior, habitually chalking it up to my feeble personal paranoia. I’ve been ignoring, forgiving and forgetting a lot, though — their effectiveness dulls quickly.

Here’s to hoping they hold out a little longer.


  1. Oh, ignoring and forgiving a lot can hold out a long, long time. Believe me. As you know, you can’t really control what people say or do but you can control your reaction to whatever is said and done. Ignoring and forgiving leads to better mental health.

  2. There’s always a nagging feeling that I’m ignoring something that I shouldn’t be ignoring, though — like I’m just finding an excuse to do nothing rather than confront whatever I’m ignoring.

  3. In this grand design of things you receive an A just for effort. Exactly where you confused me personally ended up being on the particulars. You know, they say, the devil is in the details… And it could not be much more accurate in this article. Having said that, permit me inform you what did give good results. The article (parts of it) is actually very persuasive and that is probably the reason why I am taking an effort to comment. I do not really make it a regular habit of doing that. Second, while I can notice a jumps in reasoning you come up with, I am not convinced of how you seem to connect your details which produce the actual final result. For the moment I will subscribe to your position but wish in the foreseeable future you actually link the dots much better.




Leave a Reply

