Burger Queen

It’s 6:30 a.m., and I’m hungry. I don’t have to be at the school for another 15 minutes and I want to grab a bite to eat — there’s a donut shop and a Burger King, but I don’t have any cash. I settle for the Burger King.

I order two sausage muffins. The 30-something cashier who takes my Visa card and a middle-aged manager behind her are the only two by the counter, besides myself.

I make small talk. They ask me where I work. I tell them I take school pictures, and I’ll be at the high school across the street today.

The middle-aged manager grabs her coat, preparing to leave. It’s been a long night shift. She observes:

If I could go back to high school, I would do things differently.

She chuckled twice, and knowingly, before leaving.

I get my sausage biscuits, and I leave, too.


  1. For some reason, this post seems poetic. Reading it that way, I really like it.

  2. I like this one, too, even though it’s on the short side. Brevity as the soul of wit, and all that.

  1. 1 Overwhelming Ambitions « Off the Tenure Track

    […] succumb to reality in a few short decades. I can only hope that by then I’d have put my ambition to good use. […]




Leave a Reply

